Sweet talk 101



Final Reflective Letter

 

Final Reflective Letter

            As the semester continued and got closer to the end, I feel that I have grown as a writer.  I branched out to different styles and types of essays as well as incorporating outside sources into my work.  When I first started this course, I was scared and didn’t really know what to expect.  I thought I was ok at writing and I wasn’t really worried about the class.  When I received my first essay back with the feedback and the grade, I realized that I am a pretty good writer.  I will have to admit that I did want to be a journalist, but I didn’t think I was good enough.  I love my major now being interior design, but I am also considering minoring in journalism.  I always enjoyed writing in high school but this course made me fall in love with writing. 

            I am probably the worse speller you will ever meet, but I am amazing at grammar.  I loved that spelling had nothing to do with this class and we the students were able to forget about spelling and grammar when we wrote our blogs.  One of my favorite aspects of class was peer review day where we got to sit down and edit other peoples’ works.  This helped me get a sense of what my classmates were doing and how my essay was either different or the same.  I also enjoyed this because I could help my classmates with grammar and to improve his or her paper.

            This class really challenged me to become a better writer and I became my biggest critic.  I always wanted my papers to be improved and to be perfect.  Although this class was hard for me, it got easier and easier as the semester continued.  I feel that I am ready to take on any English class the University can throw at me.  I feel that I have a good grasp on all the different types of essays and also how to cite and put internal citations into my writing.  I also learned that I am very creative.  I can take any essay and make it enjoyable for me to write and enjoyable for my audience to read. 

            I stated in my midterm reflective letter that I think by the end of the class I will be able to evoke emotions from my readers, not just from my narrative essays, but from any other style I choose to use.  This ended up being incredibly true.  In the first half of English 101, I thought the only essay I could write well would be a narrative essay.  I was dead wrong.  I learned that I can take any essay style and make it enjoyable and interesting.  My favorite essay that I wrote this semester was an expository essay, so obviously I can write other essays that aren’t just narratives. 

I absolutely loved my instructor for this course.  He made the learning fun and interesting.  I loved getting to know myself through my senses and just being about to write what I wanted.  He was probably the first person to tell me that I was a good writer and that I had talent in writing, and looking back on this course and my writing, I believe him.  I loved how the class was set up.  All the students got to know each other and we weren’t just a name on the attendance sheet.  All the in class activities really helped me and they were fun as well.  The taste workshop, for example, was a fun way to get to know everyone in the class and just be about to experience a different kind of writing.

At first I thought this course was going to be very difficult considering all the essays we would have to write and then the ten page paper at the end of the year.  Looking back on the semester, it wasn’t bad at all.  I enjoyed writing every one of the essays and although the ten page paper was difficult to write, I feel that it was beneficial to finding out who I really am.  English 101 would have to be my favorite course so far.  I enjoyed coming to class every day. 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

